BROOKS, Calif. (January 23, 2024) – The Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation has sworn into office new Tribal Chairman Anthony Roberts, Tribal Officers, and Council Members for a three- year term. The new, five- member Tribal Council was elected by the citizens of the Tribe at the annual Community Council meeting on Sunday, January 21.

The members of the newly elected Tribal Council are:

  • Anthony Roberts – Tribal Chairman. Serving his ninth term on Council, third term as Chairman.
  • Mia Durham – Tribal Secretary. Serving her fifth term on Council, first term as Secretary.
  • Leland Kinter – Tribal Treasurer. Serving his fifth term on Council, second term as Treasurer.
  • Yvonne Perkins – Council Member. Serving her second term on Council.
  • Seth Lowell – Council Member. Serving his first term on Council.

Under the Tribe’s constitution, Tribal Council is chosen through open nominations and a popular vote by adult citizens of the Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation. Council Members are elected to serve for a term of three years.

“We are honored to be able to put our years of experience to work on creating a bright future for our family, this Tribe,” said the Yocha Dehe Tribal Council. “It’s a pleasure to work with such a dedicated group of tribal leaders.”

Written By

Crystal Smyth Schneider